BUILD 2014 Downloads

I don’t know about you, but I’m still trying to catch up on all the Azure hotness Microsoft dropped at BUILD a few weeks ago.  On day 2 of BUILD I was sitting a few rows from the front in the keynote hall at BUILD.  As Scott Guthrie continued with his keynote address, I just kept thinking that the hits just keep coming (in a good way).  Plus, it’s going to take a while to digest and really learn all these great new Azure features.  Exciting!

WP_20140403_08_05_12_Pro

I love the fact that Microsoft makes pretty much all the BUILD sessions available to watch via Channel 9.  This is just a great resource for those that either couldn’t make it to BUILD, or if there, couldn’t attend all the sessions in person (you’d have to clone yourself to make that happen).

I travel a lot and being connected to the internet to watch all the sessions sometimes just isn’t possible.  For me, it is very handy to have the session videos and related PowerPoint slides downloaded to my local PC.  Downloading video and slides for each session would be quite painful.  PowerShell to the rescue!

The PowerShell script below is one that I’ve been using for a few years now to download material from BUILD, TechEd, and other major Microsoft events that have content hosted on Channel 9.  I made a few recent tweaks to handle some quirks with the way BUILD 2014 slides were being shared. There’s still some room for improvement, but for the most part it gets the job done.  And that job is downloading all the Azure related sessions and supporting videos to my local computer.

[gist https://gist.github.com/mcollier/10097074]

 

