Go Mango!

It’s no secret, I love my Windows Phone 7 phone!  I dumped my (and my wife’s) iPhones about a year ago now in favor of the new Windows Phone 7 (Samsung Focus).  I haven’t regretted that decision once.  Now, with the new Mango updates to Windows Phone 7, I’m even more in love than ever before.

As a developer, one of the things I love about my Windows Phone 7 is that it is really easy to write applications for it.  I already have Visual Studio 2010, already know .NET, and know just enough Silverlight to be dangerous.  Since I work with Windows Azure all the time now, being able to easily combine my Windows Phone 7 apps with the power, flexibility, and ease of Windows Azure just warms the cockles of my geeky heart!

If you haven’t joined in on the fun yet, now is a great time!  Why, you say?  Well, besides being one of the cool kids and earning the admiration of all your friends, you can also win a slick Samsung Series 7 Slate!  From now until the end of 2011, for every new Windows Phone 7 Mango app you submit, you’ll be entered to win 1 of 5 Samsung Series 7 Slates.  Nice!  But wait . . . there’s more!  If you submit 5 apps you’ll also be entered to win free advertising for the app of your choice.

Don’t forget – Windows Azure makes a great platform for powering your Windows Phone 7 apps!  You’ve got a world-class Content Delivery Network, powerful storage services (tables, blobs, queues, and SQL Azure), flexible compute instances (e.g. for serving up your WCF services that your app will consume), easy to use authentication via Access Control Services (for simply integrating with Facebook, Google, Windows Live ID, etc.), and the Windows Azure Marketplace full of fantastic data sets.

So what are you waiting for!  Go get all the tools you need and get in on the action now by signing up at http://bit.ly/MangoOffer.

Also, be sure to sign up at http://bit.ly/oPTiN to be notified of all the latest and greatest promotions and events from the fine folks at Microsoft User Community.

